The idea of naming a favorite album for every one of your years on Earth has been kicking around the internet for a little while now. I’ll give that a try some time soon, but in the spirit of this blog, I thought I’d give the game a go with my favorite movies. The further I go back, the less movies I’ve seen that year, so some of these picks are less representative of my taste than others. I’m being honest about movies I like, rather than resting just on films with good reputations. So let’s go!

1980: Caddyshack 

In a pretty strong year for movies, the irreverent slice of life at Bushwood Country Club comes out on top. It’s still eminently watchable (and eminently quotable), and I’ll give it a slight push for pure enjoyment over runner-up Raging Bull.

Honorable Mention(s): Raging Bull, Airplane!, The Empire Strikes Back, The Shining
Dishonorable Mention(s): The Blue Lagoon

1981: Raiders of the Lost Ark

In a year with fewer of my favorites, the first (and still best) Indiana Jones foray comes out on top.

HM: Superman II, Stripes
DM: Nothing else too great this year, but nothing too offensive (that I’ve seen anyway) either.

1982: Fast Times at Ridgemont High

Probably the best film in both Amy Heckerling’s and Cameron Crowe’s oeuvre, Fast Times handles teenage life with equal parts crudeness and sophistication, which is why it’s the definitive cinematic statement on the topic, even today.

HM: E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial
DM: Airplane II: The Sequel

1983: The King of Comedy

Features a darkly comic Robert De Niro (back when he was method), and a deadly serious Jerry Lewis, playing against type. Scorsese explores celebrity obsession at a time when it was just beginning to be a hot button issue.

HM: Return of the Jedi, Risky Business, Trading Places, National Lampoon’s Vacation
DM: The Big Chill

1984: This is Spinal Tap

A top contender for funniest movie ever made, in a banner year for mainstream comedy.

HM: Ghostbusters, The Karate Kid, Broadway Danny Rose, Sixteen Candles, The Muppets Take Manhattan, Amadeus
DM: Footloose, Police Academy

1985: Back to the Future

Sure, the special effects don’t really hold up, but it’s hard to think of a movie from the 1980s that’s more iconic of its era. This despite the fact that most of the film takes place in 1955. Even on the hundredth viewing, I still root for Marty to make it to the clock tower in time, as if I don’t already know the ending.

HM: Pee Wee’s Big Adventure, Rocky IV
DM: Mask
 

Read the rest of this entry »